Alpha Sigma Chapter of Phi Beta Delta International Honor Society Inducts New Members

Syracuse University inducted 69 new members and two honorary members into the Alpha Sigma chapter of the Phi Beta Delta International Honor Society on April 13.

The induction ceremony took place in Hendricks Chapel, during which the new members were awarded a medallion and certificate of membership. The keynote address was delivered by Amanda Nicholson, assistant provost and dean for student success in the Division of Enrollment and the Student Experience and professor of retail practice in the Whitman School of Management. Nicholson and Peter A. Vanable, associate provost of graduate studies, dean of the Graduate School and professor of psychology in the College of Arts and Sciences, were inducted as honorary members.

Read more at SU News.

Reception April 29 to Honor Chancellor’s Respect For Haudenosaunee

Skä·noñh: Great Law of Peace Center and the Onondaga Nation will honor Chancellor Kent Syverud for his commitment to enhancing the University’s relationship with the Haudenosaunee with a reception on Sunday, April 29.

Since his inauguration in April 2014, Syverud has initiated several measures that honor the Haudenousanee. They include the University’s policy of opening public events with an acknowledgement of the Onondaga Nation and flying the Haudenosaunee flag in prominent campus locations. He also has continued support for the Haudenosaunee Promise, a scholarship for Haudenosaunee students established in 2006 in appreciation for the historical, political and cultural legacies of the Haudenosaunee.

Read the full article at SU News.

Danielle Schaf Is Syracuse University’s First Beinecke Scholar

Danielle Schaf, a junior majoring in anthropology in the College of Arts and Sciences and the Maxwell School and in forensic science and writing and rhetoric in Arts and Sciences and a member of the Renée Crown University Honors Program, is a recipient of a 2018 Beinecke Scholarship. She is one of just 18 students awarded the Beinecke Scholarship for 2018. The Beinecke Scholarship Program was established in 1971 by the Board of Directors of the Sperry and Hutchinson Co. to honor Edwin, Frederick and Walter Beinecke. The program encourages and enables highly motivated students of exceptional promise to pursue opportunities available to them and to be courageous in the selection of a graduate course of study in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

Read the Q&A at SU News.

Chancellor Syverud, Provost Wheatly Call on Academic Leadership to Support Bold Growth in Study Abroad

Last week, Chancellor Kent Syverud and Provost Michele Wheatly welcomed Syracuse University’s eight international center directors to campus and outlined their vision for further internationalizing the Syracuse experience. The reception, attended by academic and administrative leadership, faculty, directors and students from across the University, focused on growing high-quality study abroad opportunities for Syracuse students.

Read the full article at SU News.

Engineering & Computer Science Enhances AEA Team to Advance ‘Transforming Our Future’ Plan

The College of Engineering & Computer Sciencehas made two key personnel enhancements to bolster the “Transforming Our Future” planthe college’s strategic advancement plan. Fred Brown, from Gettysburg College, has been hired as assistant dean of advancement and external affairs (AEA), and Debra Perkins has been promoted, broadening her role as director of advancement.

View the full story at SU News.

Eldawy, Letona Receive Prestigious Truman Scholarship

Syracuse University juniors Dina Eldawy and Crystal Letona have been named as 2018 recipients of the prestigious Truman Scholarship.

Eldawy of Pensacola, Florida, is an international relations and citizenship and civic engagement major in the College of Arts and Sciences and the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs and is a member of the Renée Crown University Honors Program. Letona of Los Angeles is a communications and rhetorical studies major in the College of Visual and Performing Arts, a policy studies major in the College of Arts and Sciences and the Maxwell School and a women’s and gender studies major in the College of Arts and Sciences.

Read more at SU News.