Chancellor’s Ad Hoc Committee on DACA/Undocumented Students

In his Dec. 7 message to Syracuse University students, faculty and staff, Chancellor Kent Syverud charged the Division of Enrollment and the Student Experience, the Council on Diversity and Inclusion and the Department of Public Safety (DPS) to work together to ensure all members of the community are protected from physical harm, discrimination and intimidation.

As a result of that collaboration and following several weeks of collecting nominations from the campus community, Chancellor Syverud today announced the members of the Ad Hoc Committee on Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA)/Undocumented Students.

The committee will focus on establishing opportunities for dialogue and reflection among students, faculty and staff to promote and advance a diverse and inclusive campus community. It will also seek to understand the long-term needs of Syracuse’s diverse student body, many of whom may be undocumented or beneficiaries of the DACA program.

“All of us must collectively do everything we reasonably can to demonstrate our commitment to students who came to this country as children, were raised and educated here, but remain undocumented,” says Chancellor Syverud. “I am confident the members of this committee will work diligently in the coming weeks and months to ensure Syracuse University is taking all appropriate steps to provide the resources and support necessary to help every member of our campus community thrive.”

The committee will also be responsible for the following:

  • reviewing and studying the University’s current procedures for providing resources to DACA/undocumented students and employees;
  • exploring best practices from other colleges and universities to fill any weaknesses or gaps Syracuse University may have to better support such students on campus; and
  • collaborating with students, faculty, staff, relevant campus councils and organizations, and subject matter experts to identify and recommend ways in which Syracuse can enhance its support of this group of students.

Co-chaired by Jennifer Mathews, director of undergraduate international admissions, and Michele “Shelly” Sipley, director of the Office of Financial Aid and Scholarship Programs, the membership of this committee consists largely of professional staff from the University’s various offices and programs that provide direct support to students. The committee will liaise with faculty as well as with other relevant councils and committees.

The members of the ad hoc committee are:

  • Patricia Burak, Director of the Slutzker Center for International Services
  • Myrna García-Calderón, Associate Professor, Spanish
  • Walt Donner, Graduate Student, Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs
  • Huey Hsiao, Associate Director of Multicultural Affairs
  • Andrew Kim, Associate Professor, College of Law
  • Missy Mathis-Hanlon, Interim Director of the Parents Office
  • Margaret Himley, Associate Provost for International Education and Engagement
  • Diasia Kittrell-Robinson, Junior, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Martin Lopez-Galicia, Senior, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Amy Lutz, Associate Professor, Sociology
  • Gladys McCormick, Assistant Professor, History
  • Vernon Thompson, Commander, DPS
  • Kizzie P. Walker, Staff Therapist and Multicultural Outreach Specialist