2021 Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility (DEIA) Strategic Plan


In 2019, the Board of Trustees commissioned the gathering of data and research that would inform its first five-year diversity, equity, inclusion, and accessibility (DEIA) strategic plan. The research study included: facilitated listening and dialogue sessions; a campus climate pulse survey; a diversity, equity, and inclusion inventory of all schools, colleges, and many of the units across campus; and an institutional DEI benchmark study.

Led by the Office of Diversity and Inclusion and a taskforce of campus community members (see full list below), the strategic plan draft will be completed in June 2021. The insights and data gathered will help inform the development of recommendations for the DEIA strategic plan.

Designed to include monitoring criteria and in collaboration with campus leaders and stakeholders, the goal of developing a DEIA five-year strategic plan is to continue strengthening our ability to create an environment that is inclusive and excellent for all. The plan will be immediately implemented upon approval and endorsement by Chancellor Kent Syverud and the Executive Team.

Participate in the Planning Process

Students, faculty, staff and alumni were provided three ways they could participate in the DEIA strategic planning process:

DEIA Strategic Plan Review Sessions

The University has partnered with the Center for Strategic Diversity Leadership and Social Innovation to gather the data and research that will inform the DEIA strategic planning process.  Join this virtual session to review the results of the 2020 campus-wide climate pulse survey and additional research that has been conducted.

DEIA Strategic Plan Discussion Sessions

The Office of Diversity and Inclusion and members of the DEIA plan taskforce hosted a series of virtual dialogue and community-building sessions for current students, faculty, staff, and alumni interested in learning more about the DEIA strategic planning process. The sessions were open to all campus community members, as well as those that were invitation-only for key campus stakeholder groups.

 The sessions:

  • Featured a high-level overview of recently reported campus climate pulse survey data findings and insights.
  • Provided an overview and timeline of the University’s DEIA strategic planning process; and
  • Shared how community members can offer feedback to the process and plan.

DEIA Strategic Plan Open-Ended Feedback Survey

This survey creates an asynchronous opportunity for students, faculty, staff, and administration to offer confidential feedback directly to the DEIA strategic planning task force leading this effort.

DEIA Strategic Plan Taskforce

The DEIA Strategic Plan Taskforce was selected by the chief diversity and inclusion officer due to their expertise and commitment to DEIA.  The taskforce partners with the Office of Diversity and Inclusion to lead the efforts of the plan development process.  Its membership includes the following:

  • Keith A. Alford, Taskforce Chair, Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer, Professor, School of Social Work
  • Philip Arnold, Chair, Religion Department, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Davine Bey, Director of Talent Management, Office of Human Resources
  • Eboni Britt, Executive Director of Strategic Communications, Office of Diversity and Inclusion
  • Jorge A. Castillo, Director, LGBTQ Resource Center
  • Shiu-Kai Chin, Task Force Co-chair, Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, College of Engineering and Computer Science
  • Diane Crawford, Executive Director of Institutional Culture, Whitman School of Management
  • Meredith Davis, Associate Vice President of Student Engagement, Student Experience
  • Martha Diede, Director, Center for Teaching and Learning Excellence, Office of the Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs
  • Jerry Edmonds, Senior Assistant Provost, Academic Affairs
  • Jean Gallipeau, Comptroller, Comptroller’s Office
  • Wei Gao, Associate Director of Operations and Outreach, Center for International Services
  • Maurice Harris, Dean, Undergraduate Admissions
  • Taylor John, Student, Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs
  • Regina Jones, Assistant Director, Multicultural Affairs
  • Brian Konkol, Dean, Hendricks Chapel
  • Melissa Luke, Provost Faculty Fellow, Associate Dean for Research and Dean’s Professor, School of Education
  • Andrew Sky Lieberman, Student, Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs
  • LaShan Lovelace, Director of Diversity and Inclusion, Office of Diversity and Inclusion
  • Diane Lyden Murphy, Task Force Co-chair, Dean, David B. Falk College of Sport and Human Dynamics
  • Gladys McCormick, Jay and Debe Moskowitz Endowed Chair in Mexico-U.S. Relations, and Director of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs
  • Robert Murrett, Professor of Practice, Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs
  • Seth Ovadia, Associate Director, Institutional Research
  • Paula Possenti-Perez, Director, Center for Disability Resources
  • Mackenzie Proud, Graduate Student, Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs
  • LaVonda Reed, Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs, Office of the Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs, and Professor of Law
  • Karin Ruhlandt, Dean, Distinguished Professor, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Jeffrey Stoecker, Vice President and Chief Communications Officer
  • Grace Terry, Assistant Director of Young Alumni and Student Engagement, Office of Alumni Engagement
  • Stephen Vassallo, Associate Vice President, Institutional Research
  • Diane R. Wiener, Research Professor and Associate Director of Interdisciplinary Programs and Outreach, Burton Blatt Institute
  • Salatha Willis, Associate Director of Diversity and Inclusion, Athletics
  • Peter Willner, Strategic Partnerships Manager, El-Hindi Center for Dialogue, InterFaith Works of CNY

Contact Us

For more information, please contact the Office of Diversity and Inclusion at diversity@syr.edu.